http://www.stonepages.com/wales/maenllia.htmlWord of the day, necrogeography. What an interesting word. I will need to add it to my other list of interesting words. It is the study of the changing morphology of cemeteries. According to this article (I’d link to it but I’m afraid of the copyright police – just search on the name of the author and you’ll find the pdf online – or ask me), it “…relates intimately to architecture, sociology, psychology and economics.”

My favorite line in the article is this, “I have reached the conclusion that the cemetery in the United States is a microcosm of the real world, and binds a particular generation of men to the architectural and perhaps even spatial preferences and prejudices that accompanied them throughout life.” Pretty interesting hypothesis which leads me to think of my current spatial preferences and prejudices and how they’ve changed over time. (I like tiny spaces, would that be relevant?) Of course a lot of the author’s efforts goes into analyzing the structure and size of formal western-style tombstones and the physical layout of cemeteries. But what about these kinds of markers? Not American granted, but stones weren’t always nicely carved with names and dates and conveniently placed. In fact if you’re a real rock hound you know that tombstones are really pretty recent in the scheme of things. And when you leave strange rocks behind, people tend to tell stories about them.

