poster for movie, MementoOk, I’ll just say it. Projects like this drive me nutty. I mean the whole idea behind LifeBits just seems overly narcissistic and as I’m sure my friend Paulina would say, who cares?! Yes, I acknowledge that it might have some medical application for folks who are losing their memory (although I prefer this way instead).

Or even the way in which Joanne and Bob Chew chose to record it, which is one of the most haunting and powerful discussions of memory and memory loss that I’ve heard in recent years. You really owe it to yourself to give it a listen. No amount of “lifelogging” would ever convey what is related here in a Story Corps booth in under 4 minutes.

Maybe I just don’t get it. But in my opinion the contrast between these two forms of memory preservation is a great example of what is ultimately important when it comes to recording personal histories. As the tag from the movie stated, “some things are best left forgotten.” Right?

